Book Review: Walking Over Eggshells

I’ve just finished Walking Over Eggshells by Lucinda E. Clarke and am happy to post this review and support the author.

Well, what can I say! The full five stars are fully deserved as Lucinda has entertained me for hours with her adventurous life of ups and downs. When I started this book, I initially thought it was going to be a typical poor-ole-me, look how my mother mistreated me kind of book. But now that I’ve finished it, I see how essential the beginning is to the whole story and how our beginnings can impact our entire lives. I’m thinking of the hardy little delicate flowers that thrive in the rocks and show their beautiful selves, fighting their way to the light despite not having a good fertile ground upon which to grow. They battle rough winds and do not have the shelter of strong trees to protect them. Or the pansies and violas that are winter-hardy, fluttering their soft petals and showing us their resilience through the snow and frost. This is how I see the author’s life. In a spiritual sense, she has had such a rich life, pushing through boundaries, even if it was never a conscious decision to do so.

This book will take you on a roller-coaster ride as you follow the author’s story, the countries in which she has lived and the often incredible challenges she has faced and overcome. What a ride. The thread weaving through the entire story is the search for her mother’s approval. And while I read it, cheering her all the way and amazed at all she has achieved, I was horrified at her mother’s behaviour. Lucinda deserves to be proud of herself. Most of us would be thrilled to have achieved as much as she has and to have painted their canvas with such rich colours. The writing flows so easily, and I’ll be surprised if you can put the book down.

Leave a Reply

